General Assembly

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA/GA) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations and the only one in which all member nations have equal representation. Its powers are to oversee the budget of the United Nations, appoint the non-permanent members to the Security Council, receive reports from other parts of the United Nations and make recommendations in the form of General Assembly Resolutions. It has also established a wide number of subsidiary organs.

The General Assembly meets under its president or Secretary-General in regular yearly sessions the main part of which lasts from September to December and resumed part from January until all issues are addressed (which often is just before the next session's start). It can also reconvene for special and emergency special sessions. Its composition, functions, powers, voting, and procedures are set out in Chapter IV of the United Nations Charter.

At JMUN, The General Assembly consists of six committees that debate different aspects of world problems and concerns. In MUN conferences these committees gather on the last day of the conference to debate the resolutions that have passed in the committees. In JMUN, the six committees of the General Assembly are:​

1st committee:   Disarmament
2nd committee:  Environmental
3rd committee:   Human Rights
4th committee:   Military Affairs
5th committee:   Political
6th committee:   Social Affairs

In JMUN, the best clauses of the passed resolutions will be selected by the delegates in the respective committees and sent to the General Assembly Plenary Session. These clauses form one big resolution related to the theme of the conference which will be debated and voted at the plenary session.